09.30 Welcome & Opening of the Conference
Introduction to eStandards and the case for formal standardization in large-scale eHealth deployment
Catherine Chronaki & Robert Stegwee1
10.00 The draft roadmap for essential standards development:
Strategic Options and Policy Instruments
Marco Eichelberg
10.20 Refined eEIF & Use Case Repository Karima Bourquard
10.40 Coffee/Tea Break
11.00 Solutions for the co-existence of eHealth standards
Lessons learned
Marco Eichelberg
11.20 Panel discussion with Healthcare Executives

Moderated by: Catherine Chronaki


  • Prof. Björn Bergh, CIO/CTO, University Hospital Heidelberg, User Chair of IHE Germany
  • Prof. Dipak Kalra, EuroRec Institute, Belgium
  • Domingos Silva Pereira, CIO, Centro Hospitalar Vila Nova de Gaia/Espenho, Portugal
  • Bernd Behrend, Vice-Chair KH-IT, German hospital CIO association
  • Pajic Vanja, Croatian Health Insurance Fund, Croatia


12.30 Lunch break
13.30 Tools for the Formal Standards Life-Cycle Kai Heitmann & Giorgio Cangioli
13.50 Bridging ICT standardization with Procurement Marcello Melgara
14.10 Panel discussion with Industry Representatives

Moderated by: Robert Stegwee


  • Alexander Ihls, Deutsche Telekom Healthcare Solutions, Germany
  • Horst Merkle, Roche Diagnostics, USA
  • Jaime Gamboa, Philips HealthCare Informatics Solution and Service, Netherlands
  • Nicole Denjoy, Secretary General at COCIR, Belgium


15.10 Coffee & Tea Break
15.30 International Patient Summary standards Stephen Kay
15.50 Panel discussion with the European eHealth SDO Platform

Moderated by: Michiel Sprenger


  • Catherine Chronaki, HL7 Foundation, Europe
  • Christof Gessner, HL7 European Strategic Advisory Board, HL7 Germany
  • Karima Bourquard, IHE Europe
  • Manne Andersson, eHealth Agency, Joint Action supporting eHN, Sweden
  • Pim Volkert, SNOMED CT National Release Center, Nictiz, Netherlands
  • Robert Stegwee, CEN/TC 251 Health Informatics, Europe


16.50 Summary and Next steps Robert Stegwee
17.00 Conclusions & Closing Remarks Catherine Chronaki

1 Unless otherwise noted, all presenters are members of the eStandards consortium